Shahwardi Wins 2012 Herbert Power Stakes – Race Results

October 16th, 2012

The Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes took place at Caulfield Racecourse last Saturday October 13, 2012, with Shahwardi running away with the win.

Shahwardi has now won four of his 21 race starts and has earned close to $300,000 in prize money.

Saturday’s 2012 Herbert Power Stakes was the six-year-old’s first attempt at Australian racing, with his first 20 race runs all taking place in Europe.

Shahwardi won the 2012 Herbert Power Stakes by a length in front of Excluded, who placed second, and Exceptionally, who overcame an unlucky run to finish in third.

The Lando gelding was paying odds of $15 to win the 2012 Herbert Power Stakes at

Race favourite Gatewood was forced to be content with seventh position, after he ran into a wall of horses in the final straight.

Gatewood’s jockey, Corey Brown, admitted a wrong decision on his behalf cost Gatewood the race.

“If I follow Ironstein, I get the dream run on the rails and I’ve got no doubt we win the race,” Brown said.

“I just went the wrong way.”

Shahwardi was ridden by jockey Kerrin McEvoy in the 2012 Herbert Power Stakes, who was quick to pick him as a possible Melbourne Cup chance.

“He’d be some sort of a chance in the Melbourne Cup on that win,” McEvoy said.

Shahwardi did not accept for the 2012 Caulfield Cup when final acceptances were taken this morning.

Want to make the most of the 2012 Spring Racing Carnival? Just open a account today in order to get access to great odds for the 2012 spring carnival, including the Melbourne Cup 2012 this November!

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join and you will receive a bonus bet worth up to $400 to use on any race you choose this spring.

So sign up to and start experiencing the premium betting experience today.

2012 Herbert Power Stakes Race Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 4 SHAHWARDI (FR) Alain de Royer Dupre Kerrin McEvoy 13 56kg $15
2 9 EXCLUDED (NZ) Robert Hickmott Craig Williams 1L 9 54kg $7
3 8 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Dean Yendall 2.5L 15 54kg $7.50
4 3 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 2.6L 5 56kg $12
5 11 SILENT SURROUND William Smart Timothy Bell 2.8L 1 54kg $81
6 1 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings Steven Arnold 4.3L 6 58kg $15
7 2 GATEWOOD (GB) John Gosden Corey Brown 5.3L 4 56kg $4F
8 12 I’M JAKE (NZ) David Brideoake & David Feek Ben Melham 7.05L 11 54kg $51
9 7 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 7.15L 10 54.5kg $14
10 6 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek Dwayne Dunn 8.9L 7 55kg $14
11 5 BIANMICK Michael Brady Darren Gauci 9.1L 14 55.5kg $12
12 15 RED EYE SPECIAL (NZ) Michael Moroney Michael Walker 12.1L 2 54kg $101
13 10 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher Glen Boss 14.35L 12 54kg $9
14 13 BUDAI (GER) David Hayes Steven King 14.45L 3 54kg $151
15 14 GUNS AT FIVE (NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 22.45L 8 54kg $31
16 16 AULD BURNS (GB) David Hayes Nicholas Hall 32.45L 16 54kg $71